Strawberry Shortcake

In celebration of the UK’s Doughnut Week, I enjoyed my second doughnut this week: Gibson’s Donuts’ Doughnut of the Month, the Strawberry Shortcake:

Sberry scake 3

How pretty is this doughnut? See the lovely bits of strawberry peeking through? The decadent cream cheese glaze with the graham cracker (?) crumbled topping? One of the prettiest doughnuts I’ve seen at Gibson’s. My first bite into the doughnut revealed the pale pink cake inside. So delightful!

The strawberry taste was faint (the doughnut itself was the strawberry cake doughnut), but balanced nicely with the cream cheese and topping. I’m a HUGE fan of Gibson’s cream cheese topping, so I would not have been disappointed with a bit more of it. For real, I would eat a big bowl of just their cream cheese topping with a spoon if I could.

Overall, I think the prettiness of this doughnut outweighs its taste. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a tastee doughnut, but I would have liked a smidge more strawberry taste. But perhaps my impression of strawberry shortcake is warped by my memory of the strong smell of the Strawberry Shortcake doll. One time on a family vacation when I was little, I put my Strawberry Shortcake doll and several of her dessert-themed friends in a drawer in the hotel room. The next day, when I went to retrieve them, the smell was way-overpowering. As in, take an antihistamine and cover your nose with a sweatshirt strong. It’s possible that I now mistakenly associate strawberry shortcake with strong sensory experiences. So maybe strawberry shortcake actually should have a lighter strawberry taste? That way, it will not remind us of odoriferous childhood memories.

Tastee score: 7

Doughnuts news: Make sure you celebrate Doughnut Week this week, even if you don’t live in Australia or the UK! Or maybe we should think of every week as doughnut week so we can justify a trip to Gibson’s.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

