Carrot Cake Doughnut

For real, y’all, I’m never gonna have to eat salad again! My daily fruit/veggie serving will be from doughnuts. This weekend, I finally got to try the carrot cake doughnut. I like that Gibson’s is encouraging us to eat healthy through doughnuts (blueberry, strawberry, carrots – so, so healthy).

Kids, that argument *might* not work on your parents, but please give it a try and report your results. If you successfully defend your position, I’ll write your rec for law school.

Back to the issue at hand. Behold the carrot cake doughnut:

carrot-cake-2

Doesn’t it look delicious? And that cream cheese frosting – DIVINE.

It was a little light on carroty flavor, but the texture was spot on for carrot cake. (Fun fact: I have baked carrot cake from scratch before.) Also? It did NOT have nuts! You know how a lot of people ruin (or as my Grandmother used to say, “rurn”) a carrot cake with chopped up pieces of nuts all in it? Gibson’s does not. Gibson’s respects the carrot cake.

Like last week, I’m a tad conflicted on the score. This is a delicious doughnut; the cream cheese frosting is so tastee, I’d eat a bowl of it with a spoon. But there wasn’t quite enough carroty flavor to it. So:

Tastee score: 7

Maybe I should try this doughnut again in a few weeks (it’s now in the regular line up) to see if it tastes more carroty (carrotier?). Also, it means a tastee vegetable serving for the day.

Doughnut news: One more weekend for the King Cake doughnut. I will get to Gibson’s super early this weekend to try it!

5 comments

  1. There was enough icing to have some with each bite of doughnut. And if the queen of nut-filled desserts says that nuts don’t belong in carrot cake, then that’s Gospel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

