Pumpkin Spice

When did the number of pumpkin-flavored food and drink items proliferate like mosquitoes after a rain in a Southern summer? I mean, you can get pumpkin ANYTHING during the fall. Some of the weirder choices are pumpkin spice pringles and pumpkin spice beef jerky. I am not making this up, as Dave Barry would say.

Pumpkin-flavored doughnuts, on the other hand, completely make sense. Gibson’s offers two different kinds of pumpkin spice doughnuts during the fall: cream-topped and non-cream-topped. Naturally, I tried both.

Non-cream-topped

pumpkin-spice-2

I enjoyed this doughnut in my car with my friend Debbie, who was visiting Memphis. We had Gibson’s Donuts as appetizers to our brunch at Hog and Hominy (y’all, their poutine is tastee!). The doughnut was more spice than pumpkin, but still very good.

Tastee score: 7

Cream-topped

I had this doughnut twice – with and without the sprinkles because I am THAT DEDICATED, y’all! I will try every single variation of Gibson’s Donuts’ doughnuts to help inform your choice of sugary goodness.

The cream, as always, was divine. But again, this doughnut was more spice than pumpkin, which made me wonder: did Gibson’s mean they used the spice “pumpkin spice,” or was it intended to be a combination of the pumpkin flavor and spice flavor? This is a Very Important Question, as it heavily influences the Tastee Score. I’m going to decide for Gibson’s that they used the spice “pumpkin spice”, in which case:

Tastee score: 8.

The score would have been higher, but the quality of other doughnuts that have been reviewed by your humble doughnut servant has indeed been that much higher, so the standard is very high.

My brother, sister-in-law, niece and nephews invited me to join them AT Gibson’s for breakfast during their Thanksgiving week visit. I had the fancier-looking cream-topped pumpkin spice doughnut with them. They all agreed that the doughnuts at Gibson’s are very tastee. My sister-in-law was especially impressed by the glazed doughnut.

Doughnut news: Can you imagine the excitement that the City of Memphis and I felt upon seeing THIS?!?

gibsons-sign-2

Please forgive my tardiness in letting you know about this most important news. Apparently, not everyone got the memo, because Gibson’s posted the following on their FB page the morning of the expansion:

gibsons-fb-2

The City of Memphis took a collective deep breath, then descended upon our favorite doughnut shop as soon as we could. I’ve tried to peek inside the newly expanded kitchen, but I can’t tell where or how it got expanded. All I know is that when I ask for glazed doughnuts – even when they’re not in the display case – one of the fantastic Gibson’s folks disappears into the kitchen, then brings me one. Every single time.

One comment

Leave a Reply

