Happy Very, Very Belated National Cream Filled Doughnut Day

September 14: Mark your calendar for next year. Or use one of those revolving reminder features on the smart phone for this date every year. It’s National Cream Filled Doughnut Day. Cousin Gwen made sure to remind me.

Gibson’s was not officially celebrating National Cream Filled Doughnut Day – at least, I didn’t see any signs when I visited a couple of days before the Holiday. I asked for a cream filled doughnut, which Gibson’s had anyway because they have an exemplary variety of doughnuts at all times:

cream-filled-whole-2

See all that glorious cream that the doughnut cannot contain within its glorious self? You think you’re going to get bite after bite of creamy, um, cream, right?

A peek inside (as suggested by Cousin Gwen) had me anticipating this doughnut with ever fiber of my being: SO MUCH CREAM!

cream-filled-inside-2

The thought of bite after bite of lovely cream and the stellar Gibon’s glazed doughnut had me so excited about this doughnut, I was a little sad I took the time to take this many photographs of it.

Then I ate it.

Y’all, it was just a tube of cream through the middle. Don’t get me wrong: it was very, very tastee. But not what I was expecting. Of course, this was not an Official National Cream Filled Doughnut Day doughnut. But if Gibson’s can fill up almost every square centimeter of the apple cinnamon doughnut with cinnamon apples, shouldn’t they be able to get lots and lots of cream inside a doughnut? Apples are chunky and cumbersome; cream is light and … well, it’s creamy! Maybe there’s a complicated chemical/cooking/sugar reason for this.

Scoring is tricky. My disappointment in the cream to doughnut ratio aside, this is a really tastee doughnut. For real, get it the next time you go to Gibson’s. And again, this was not an Official National Cream Filled Doughnut Day doughnut. But it’s what they gave me when I asked for a cream filled doughnut. Harrumph.

Tastee score: 8.

Really, Gibson’s, I love you. I really do. Just as much as these folks do:

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

