Gibson’s Doughnuts

As any Memphian will tell you, Gibson’s is the best doughnut shop in town.  It’s open 24 hours a day, so you can enjoy one or a dozen of their doughnuts anytime you have the hankering for them.

My brother, cousins and I have long enjoyed, even revered, the way Gibson’s spells “tasty” on their sign: “tastee.” So we have reserved the title of “tastee” only for those foods which especially tickle our taste buds. (A general chocolate chip cookie: tasty. The Family Pumpkin Pie that includes a large number of melted marshmallows: tastee!)

I just moved back to Memphis, my hometown, after a stint in Texas. I needed a hobby to justify running in this heat and humidity, so I’ve decided to eat my way through Gibson’s menu. Each doughnut will be graded on a scale from 1 to 10. The score will include components such as appearance, aroma, texture, flavor, uniqueness, and of course, general tastee-ness.

To keep my doughnut cravings under control, I will only be eating them on the weekend. Also, it will give me time to savor each bite, as I can eat them at my leisure, instead of cramming them in my mouth on the way to work. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.)

Let the trek through Gibson’s menu commence!

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

